Full Length Swivel Mirror

Time for my first project post! I’ve searched high and low for plans on how to build a full length mirror…. I never found any. So I was left to come up with a design on my own. After some googling, I found these (http://www.rockler.com/rear-mounted-swivel-mirror-hinge) swivel hinges made specifically for the project I was about to tackle.

I started out with an old door hanging mirror I bought from Target years ago… way back when I first started college. I needed just the mirror portion so I had to strip the cheap plastic trim from the edges. You can buy this same mirror for about $5-10 or just a frameless one from Target for about $15. I chose the cheapest route and worked with what I had on hand.

IMG_5601

First I ripped the paper backing off, exposing the seams of the trim. This mirror was so old that the glue was barely holding the trim together so a little tugging got it right off. I will say at if you buy a new mirror you will most likely have to take a razor knife and cut along the glued edges to get it to break off. Be careful! You are handling fragile material.

IMG_5602

Here is the trim pulling right off.

The next step was to create my new frame. I chose my own measurements according to my mirror and adjusted according to how big I wanted it. I really just made guesses. You’ll want to mitre each corner at a 45 degree angle NOT parallel.  My side pieces were 40″ long from long end to long end. My top and bottom pieces were about 17″ long end to long end.

IMG_5604

I joined the pieces together with pocket holes and wood glue.

IMG_5603

Here’s the completed frame.

IMG_5606

Now to add my mirror to my frame. I put a bead of liquid nails along the inside of the frame closest to the open center. Then placed the mirror right on top and waited for it to dry.

IMG_5607

Initially I wanted to add a small drawer on the bottom of the mirror that was included in the frame. However, I am no expert carpenter and I couldn’t figure out how to do it. So I nixed that idea. IMG_5608I used 2×4’s cut 14″ long point to long point for my base.

IMG_5609

Then, I cut the side support 45 degrees and 5 ft long point to bottom.

IMG_5611

Lastly, cut cross supports 45 degrees angles and 5″ long point to long point.

IMG_5612

IMG_5613

Add it all together with some wood glue and finish nails and you have yourself two cute side supports. After I got these babies stained, I joined them to the framed mirror with my hinges and wah-lah!

IMG_5617

IMG_5615

I used this stain…its one of my favorites!

IMG_5614

Every new thing I build becomes my favorite. I am especially proud of this because I designed it all by myself.

Leave a Reply

